

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES 120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: traceypennell@nlh.nl.ca

2017-08-14

Ms. Tracey Pennell Senior Counsel Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Ms. Pennell:

## Re: Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro – 2017 General Rate Application Board's Request for Further Information

In relation to the general rate application filed by Hydro on July 28, 2017 the Board requires that Hydro provide the following:

- 1. Hydro's proposals with respect to final rates for 2018.
- 2. The estimated impact on rates of the conclusion of the RSP rate mitigation adjustment, maintaining all other assumptions in the application constant and setting out any proposals with respect to this adjustment and/or the July 1, 2018 RSP adjustment generally.
- 3. Hydro's proposals for the recovery of the balances in the Isolated Systems Supply Cost Variance Deferral Account, the Energy Supply Cost Variance Deferral Account and the Holyrood Conversion Rate Deferral Account, and the estimated impact of the recovery of these balances on the proposed 2018 and 2019 rates.
- 4. The date when the supplemental evidence in relation to the Off-Island Purchases Deferral Account will be filed (page 1.5 of the application).

This information should be filed by Friday, August 25, 2017.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jglynn@pub.nl.ca or by telephone 709-726-6781.

Yours truly,

Koan

Sara Kean Assistant Board Secretary

SK/cj

## ecc

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro Mr. Geoff Young, E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca NLH Regulatory, E-mail: NLHRegulatory@nlh.nl.ca Newfoundland Power Inc. Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com NP Regulatory, E-mail: regulatory@newfoundlandpower.com Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@poolealthouse.ca

Teck Resources Limited Mr. Larry Bartlett, E-mail: larry.bartlett@teck.com

<u>Consumer Advocate</u> Mr. Dennis Browne, Q.C., E-mail: dbrowne@bfma-law.com Mr. Stephen Fitzgerald, E-mail: sfitzgerald@bfma-law.com Ms. Sarah Fitzgerald, E-mail: sarahfitzgerald@bfma-law.com

Ms. Bemice Bailey, E-mail: bbailey@bfma-law.com

Vale Newfoundland and Labrador Limited Mr. Thomas O'Reilly, Q.C., E-mail: toreilly@coxandpalmer.com Mr. Denis Fleming, E-mail: dfleming@coxandpalmer.com Mr. Jason Callan, E-mail: jason.callan@vale.com

Praxair Canada Inc.

Ms. Sheryl Nisenbaum, E-mail: sheryl\_nisenbaum@praxair.com Mr. David Meade, E-mail: dave\_meade@praxair.com